St. Bernard Sports Hall of Fame to host 23rd Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony

The St. Bernard Sports Hall of Fame and Gulf Coast Bank are proud to announce its 23rd annual induction class and award winners. Volleyball coaches Greg Castillo (Vandebilt Catholic High School) and Sivi Lynn Elsensohn Miller (St. Joseph School), as well as bowler F.M “Ricky” Siegfried, comprise this year’s induction class. The Humanitarian of the Year Award will go to longtime St. Bernard Parish recreation program contributor Penny Nuccio. Finally, the Elphage Caillouette Special Recognition Award will be presented to Anthony “Tony” Piazza, a former longtime multi-sport coach at Chalmette High School.

The Amateur Athletes of the Year are Emily Pulley (multi-sport athlete, Chalmette High), Hunter Bell (multi-sport athlete, Chalmette High), and Joshua Armond (swimming, Jesuit High School). The Hall of Fame will also be recognizing Jasmine Ramos as the Catherine Neyland Special Olympics Female Amateur Athlete of the Year and Adam Jones as the Bernard John Lara, Jr. Special Olympics Male Amateur Athlete of the Year. Both Special Olympics athletes were medalists at the state and/or local level.

Dr. Tommy Warner will be the guest speaker at this year’s ceremony. Additionally, the Hall of Fame will be honoring the 1967-1968 and 1968-1969 Chalmette High School football teams. The event will be held at the St. Bernard Civic Center on Saturday, April 21st at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $500/table of ten or $50/person, which includes dinner and soft drinks. A cash bar will be available for other beverages. Please forward all ticket inquiries to one of the following Hall of Fame board members:

Dr. Bryan Frichter (President) (504) 554-2685; Roy Cortes (VP) (985) 246-8354; Eddie Appel (Treasurer) (504) 301-6135.

The Hall of Fame may also be reached on Facebook (St. Bernard Sports Hall of Fame group page), Twitter (STB Hall of Fame @ParishHOF), or at