Nunez Kicks Off 2018-19 Academic Year

VISION AWARD [L-R]: Nigel Mayfield, President McInnis, Chancellor Tinney, Alex Powell, and Dominic Curole.

Faculty, staff and community leaders gathered on the campus of Nunez Community College to celebrate the beginning of the 2018-19 academic year at the Faculty & Staff Convocation held on Monday, August 13, 2018.

Convocation centered around a racing theme with the message of “Going the Distance”. Dr. Tina Tinney, Chancellor, delivered the motivational State of the College address and awarded two special awards. Dr. Tinney recognized St. Bernard Parish President Guy McInnis with the Spirit of Nunez Chancellor’s Vision Award and Matthew Woodward, owner of The Coffee House, with the Spirit of Nunez Community Partner Award.

Brittney Barras, Director of Admissions and Dual Enrollment was recognized as the 2018 Outstanding Professional Staff member and David Ballero, Maintenance, named the 2018 Outstanding Professional Support Staff member. Additionally, the following employees were recognized for their respective years of service to Nunez:

5 Year Service Award: Andrew Durta and Katherine Lemoine.

10 Year Service Award: Juanita Gilbert, Elizabeth Scallan, and Dennis Showalter.

15 Year Service Award: Richard Defoe, Walter Dornan, Klaus Heyer, Stephanie Hoskins, Donalyn Lott, and Andrea Simien.

20 Year Service Award: Tonia Loria.

25 Year Service Award: Conrad Childress, Josephine “Josie” Dietz, and Nora Kametani.

During convocation, Chancellor Tinney introduced 5 new core values for the college and awarded 5 gem awards to members of the team that embody each value. The recipients included Stephanie Hoskins (Student-Centered), Meg Greenfield (Caring), Ron Chapman (Integrity), Steve Baiamonte (Teaching & Learning) and Jamie Turner (Innovation).

Classes for the fall semester began August 20, 2018. For more information about enrolling in credit or non-credit courses, please visit or call (504) 278-6467.