Louisiana among states chosen by the National Conference of State Legislatures for Elections 2020 visit

The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) will include Louisiana among the states to visit for their project, Elections 2020: Policy, Funding and the Future, which began in the fall of 2015 with North Dakota.

The goal of the project is to explore the legislative role in selecting elections technology appropriate to each state’s needs, potential state and local funding options, and the web of responsibilities relating to elections technology.  Phase one consists of daylong forums in select states, with Louisiana’s to be held December 15, 2016.  Facilitated by experts from NCSL and the Center for Election Systems, legislators, legislative staff and state and local election administrators will discuss how elections are currently run in their state, and then discuss a course for future decision-making.

State Representative Michael Danahay, D-Sulphur, who has been chosen to lead the discussion along with Senator Karen Carter Peterson, said, “We feel truly honored that Louisiana has been chosen for the Election 2020 project, and we will take full advantage of this opportunity to use our role as legislators to explore the needs of our state and to determine if our needs are being met.  Technology is constantly growing, and it is important that we grow and learn along with it.”

Senator Karen Carter Peterson said, “As the landscape of voting technology changes, we are faced with new challenges, and new opportunities, as we work to ensure our citizens experience quality elections.  We are honored to host the Election 2020 Project and we are thrilled to be part of this important conversation. “

In 2017, NCSL will host a nationwide summit for legislators, key state legislative staff and others in the election community, to sum up the project’s work and the findings from these state forums.  In addition to North Dakota, the Election 2020 project has previously visited Rhode Island, January 14, 2016, Nebraska, April 11, 2016, Texas, May 19, 2016, and Hawaii, June 2, 2016.