St. Bernard Parish Teachers of the Year announced

The St. Bernard Parish School District’s 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year. FIRST ROW [L-R]: Tiffany Eckerle, Erica Svoboda, Raquel Wheat, Kayla Russell, and Jennifer Maldonado. SECOND ROW [L-R]: Dana Martin, Rickey Noto, Matthew Presti, Natasha Waibel, Melanie Soroe, Kate Williams, and Sharene Dali.

Twelve exceptional St. Bernard Parish educators were recently named by their schools as Teacher of the Year. Winners of this coveted and prestigious title are selected by their peers for their impact on students and families – in and out of the classroom.

This year’s winners were Jennifer Maldonado (Andrew Jackson Middle), Erica Svoboda (Arabi Elementary), Rickey Noto (Chalmette Elementary), Melanie Soroe (Chalmette High), Raquel Wheat (Davies Elementary), Kayla P. Russell (Gauthier Elementary), Tiffany Eckerle (Lacoste Elementary), Dana Martin (Meraux Elementary), Matthew Presti (Rowley Alternative), Natasha Waibel (St. Bernard Middle), Kate Williams (Smith Elementary), and Sharene Dali (Trist Middle).

Superintendent Doris Voitier said these committed professionals demonstrate excellence in teaching and go above and beyond for the students of St. Bernard Parish.

“The Teacher of the Year program gives us the opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate some of our district’s most exceptional educators,” Voitier said. “These teachers’ commitment to student success exemplifies all that is good in our public schools. We are proud to have them in our district.”

These school winners are finalists for the parish-wide Teacher of the Year. Interviews and selection for this title will take place later this month.