St. Bernard Parish School System Announces Student of the Year

Kinlee Pohlman, Torin Desselle, and Emma Nunez

Three outstanding St. Bernard Parish students were recently named as district-wide Students of the Year – Kinlee Pohlman, Torin Desselle, and Emma Nunez.  Though the 2020-2021 school year has been much different than years past, these three outstanding students have found a way to continue to shine.

Kinlee Pohlman, a fifth grader at J.F. Gauthier Elementary, is a straight ‘A’ student scoring Mastery and Advanced on all of her state-wide standardized tests. An active member of her school community, Kinlee participates in the school’s 4-H Club, cheerleading, track team, Beta Club, and art club. Outside of school Kinlee focuses her time and energy on softball where she is the team’s catcher.

Torin Desselle from Trist Middle School was recognized as the Middle School District-Wide Winner. A musician at heart, Torin plays the trumpet, the guitar, and can substitute on drums when needed for the Trist Middle School Band and Jazz Band.  Torin is a member of the school’s Beta Club, 4H Club, and Drama Club. Outside of school, Torin is a budding entrepreneur who recently started his own lawn mowing company called T&C’s Lawn Mowing. 

A phenomenal student-athlete, Emma was selected to the LHSAA All-State Volleyball Team, All Metro Volleyball Team, LDHSAA All Composite, and All-Academic Basketball Team. Emma holds a 4.2 G.P.A. and has scored at the highest levels in both her Advanced Placement Assessments and her state-wide standardized assessments.

Principal Wayne Warner says Emma is an integral part of the school community.

“Emma is currently serving her class as both Senior Class President and Homecoming Queen,” Mr. Warner said. “Emma’s positive energy and spirit will be deeply missed following graduation.”

These three students competed against other school-level winners across the district as part of the competition.  They included Kelsey Hambrice (Arabi Elementary), Graig Crovetto, Jr. (Meraux Elementary), Elyse Blum (Lacoste Elementary), Khloe Sommersville (Smith Elementary), Joly Kristoff (Chalmette Elementary), and Drew Jones (Davies Elementary). At the middle school level, Angel Perez represented St. Bernard Middle while Tyler Rushing was Andrew Jackson’s school-wide winner.

School Board Vice-President Clifford Englande said he was very impressed by all of the winners.

“All of the students who competed have accomplished so much in their time in our schools,” he said. “It was an incredibly difficult decision.”

Englande said the three district winners represent all that is good in our school district.

“Academically, athletically, and artistically gifted, these three students epitomize all that our school district has to offer our students.  It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to get to meet these scholars, and I wish them luck in the next phase of the competition.”

Kinlee Pohlman
Torin Desselle
Emma Nunez